About & Contact

Since 2009 I am working in the south of Germany, first as a Post Doc, afterwards I moved to the analytical industry. Beforehand I did my PhD studies at the University of Hanover. Science was fun and still is, but during my Post Doc period, I got frustrated about funding systems. Too many project that were designed extremely broad, too much political influence on funding as well as obsessive publishing of moderate studies disagree with my scientific expectation. Besides that I want to live in a stable professional environment without scientific nomadism from doctorate to an unlikely permanent position.
In my present position, I am responsible for a team of analytical specialists which is working in a good balance between scientific and industrial demanding tasks. Our activities cover mostly sales support in the EMEA region, but also development and marketing support. Challenging tasks occur on a daily basis and require open and clear discussions to close projects successfully. Coordinating application tasks belongs to my duties as well.
Besides my professional life, my interests concentrate on my roots, history of Germany's coastal regions, Scandinavia, photography, geology and playing my guitars. I am investing an increased amount of time on the use of modern web technologies and their influence on the society.
Honorary, I am organising the website of the lighthouse Kleiner Preuße.

Contact

Dr. Jan Stelling
Grombacher Straße 61/4
D-75045 Walzbachtal
Germany

kontakt@teamstelling.de

Education

Leibniz University of Hanover

Dr. rer. nat. in Earth Sciences July 2009

"Diffusion, Speciation and Solubility of Sulphur in Silicate Melts"
Scientific project with focus on experimental and analytical applications. Investigations concentrated on the properties of different Sulphur speciations from Sulphide (S2-) to Sulphate (S6+) in simple silicate melts (e.g. NS3 or NCS).

Leibniz University of Hanover

Diploma Studies in Earth Sciences October 2005

Studies in Earth Sciences with focus on experimental petrology and material sciences. Title of the thesis: "Solubility of H2O-Cl-bearing fluids in basaltic melt of Mt. Etna (Eruption July – August 2001)"

Seeparkschule (Debstedt)

Civil Service October 1999 - August 2000

Gymnasium Wesermünde (Bremerhaven)

Abitur (high school graduation) July 1999

Professional

Bruker AXS GmbH (Karlsruhe)

Global Application Coordinator Elemental Analysis since February 2018

Head of Application XRF EMEA September 2015 - January 2018

Head of Application Team XRF Karlsruhe January 2014 - August 2015

Application Scientist XRF January 2012 - December 2013

Project work as XRF application engineer to support sales, strong interaction with product management and development. Part of activities are measurement projects, product presentations as well as hardware and software testing. Global coordination of application activities in Elemental Analysis (XRF, OES, CGA).

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Post Doc August 2009 - December 2011

Institute of Geochemistry and Mineralogy (AGW)
Experimental and analytical studies as well as coordination of the ReCaWa joint project within the GEOTECHNOLOGIEN initiative of DFG & BMBF.

Leibniz University of Hanover

PhD student October 2005 - July 2009

Institute of Mineralogy
Experimental and analytical studies with focus on experimentalpetrologie (high temperature/high pressure), several beamline activities and cooperation abroad (e.g. ESRF Grenoble, University of Bristol, ANKA Karlsruhe), interdisciplinary studies with colleagues from Potsdam and Clausthal-Zellerfeld.

Skills

Within my scientifc and project activities, I was able to acquire and emphasize some skills.

  • XRF Spectrometry
  • Geology & Mineralogy
  • Silicate Glasses & Melts
  • Wordpress
  • CSS & HTML
  • Data Security & Privacy

Über mich & Kontakt

Seit 2009 arbeite ich als Norddeutscher im beruflichen Exil in Süddeutschland, zunächst als Post Doc, jetzt in der Industrie. Zuvor war ich als Doktorand in Hannover beschäftigt. Forschung macht Spaß, allerdings hat mich meine Zeit als PostDoc desillusioniert, gerade in Bezug auf die öffentlich finanzierte Wissenschaft. Zu viel und zu große Projekte, die zu sehr politisch beeinflusst werden, ebenso wie zwanghaftes Publizieren mittelmäßiger Arbeiten widersprechen meinem wissenschaftlichen Anspruch und haben mich umdenken lassen. Zudem möchte ich meiner Familie ein stabiles Umfeld ohne wissenschaftliches Nomadentum von der Promotion bis zur (unwahrscheinlichen) Festanstellung in der öffentlich finanzierten Wissenschaft bieten.
In meinem aktuellen beruflichen Umfeld arbeitet mein Team in guter Balance zwischen wissenschaftlichem und industriellem Anspruch im In- und Ausland (EMEA) in vertriebsnahen bzw. -unterstützenden Strukturen der Instrumentellen Analytik. Herausfordernde Situationen sind alltäglich und erfordern offene und klare Kommunikation, um Projekte erfolgreich abschließen zu können.
Neben meinem beruflichen Leben beschäftige ich mich mit meinen Wurzeln, der Norddeutschen Geschichte, Skandinavien, Photographie, Geologie und wieder zunehmend mehr mit meinen Gitarren. Besonderes Interesse lege ich auf den Nutzen moderner Webtechnologien sowie deren Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft.
Ehrenamtlich kümmere ich mich um den Webaufttritt des Leuchtturms Kleiner Preuße in Wremen.

Kontaktdaten

Dr. Jan Stelling
Grombacher Straße 61/4
D-75045 Walzbachtal

kontakt@teamstelling.de

Ausbildung

Leibniz Universität Hannover

Dr. rer. nat. in Geowissenschaften Juli 2009

"Diffusion, Speziation und Löslichkeit von Schwefel in Silikatschmelzen"
Forschungsprojekt & Studie mit Schwerpunkten in experimentellen und analytischen Anwendungen. Untersucht wurden die Eigenschaften verschiedener Schwefelspeziation von Sulfid (S2-) bis Sulfat (S6+) in einfachen Silikatgläsern (z.B. NS3 oder NCS).

Leibniz Universität Hannover

Diplom in Geowissenschaften Oktober 2005

Studium der Geowissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt in experimenteller Petrologie und Nebenfach Werkstoffkunde. Titel der Dplomarbeit: "Löslichkeit von H2O-Cl-haltigen Fluiden in basaltischer Schmelze des Ätna (Eruption Juli – August 2001)"

Seeparkschule (Debstedt)

Zivildienst Oktober 1999 - August 2000

Gymnasium Wesermünde (Bremerhaven)

Abitur Juli 1999

Beruflich

Bruker AXS GmbH (Karlsruhe)

Global Application Coordinator Elemental Analysis seit Februar 2018

Head of Application XRF EMEA September 2015 - Januar 2018

Head of Application Team XRF Karlsruhe Januar 2014 - August 2015

Application Scientist XRF Januar 2012 - Dezember 2013

Projektarbeit als RFA-Applikateur in analytischer Beratung bzw. Unterstützung des Vertriebs und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Produktmanagement und Entwicklung. Teil dieser Tätigkeiten sind Messprojekte und Produktpräsentationen, sowie Tests von Hard- und Software. Globale Koordiniering der Applikationsaktivitäten im Bereich Elementanalytik (RFA, OES, CGA).

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Post Doc August 2009 - Dezember 2011

Institut für Geochemie und Mineralogie (AGW)
Experimentelle und analytische Arbeiten sowie Koordination des ReCaWa-Verundprojekts innerhalb der GEOTECHNOLOGIEN-Initiative von DFG & BMBF.

Leibniz Universität Hannover

Doktorand Oktober 2005 - Juli 2009

Institut für Mineralogie
Experimentelle und analytische Arbeiten mit Schwerpunkt in experimenteller Petrologie (Hochtemperatur/Hochdruck), mehrere Messkampagnen & Aufenthalte im Ausland (z.B. ESRF Grenoble, University of Bristol, ANKA Karlsruhe), interdisziplinäre Arbeiten mit Kollegen in Potsdam & Clausthal-Zellerfeld.

Fähigkeiten

Innerhalb meiner Forschungsaktivitäten und Projektarbeiten habe ich mir einige Fähigkeiten aneignen und vertiefen können.

  • Röntgenfluoreszenzanalyse
  • Geologie & Mineralogie
  • Silikatgläser & -schmelzen
  • Wordpress
  • CSS & HTML
  • Daten & Privatsphäre